Morocco – Zagora trip!

A month later I am still gasping at how beautiful this city is. After so many European cities slowly (sadly) gradually blending into a streak of common landscapes Morocco took my breath away.
(photo stolen from jamie) 
When I was first landing I was so excited I could hardly breathe. It was the first time I found myself flying over breathtaking desert dunes and I was so excited I was about to burst in my seat. Half-hyperventilating in my seat I looked around wildly to see if anyone felt the same, but everyone seemed pretty calm although the couple sitting next to me caught my eye and gave me an odd smile (and perhaps a look of twinkling understanding)
But really?!!?! Flying over the Sahara desert?!?! My gosh this was the coolest thing that’s ever happened to me (at that point, but at this point I met 2 astronauts and an actress so randomly these are pretty cool as well) 
Travel companions 🙂
Look so shitty here, but the night before we stayed up the entire night talking, just talking. This means more to me than anyone can understand, except for you, because I know you feel the same. Thank you. 🙂
dusty doors
You could see elements of French and that was interesting in that from the landscape itself I could readily see the remnants of its colonial past, as with the Russian signs I saw in Latvia

Our tour itinerary, if i’m not wrong:
This tour will introduce you to the Sahara desert and the south of Morocco. Not everybody is fit to go on this trip though, it involves about 08 hours drive each day. This is the perfect trip for those short on time but can’t afford missing a trip to the Sahara desert wit a camel trek and a night sleep under the stars in a desert camp.
Day 01:  
Marrakech – Ait Ben Haddou – Draa Valley – Zagora.
Leaving in the morning to Zagora throught the High Atlas mountains by the Tizi n’Tichka pass (2260m.alt) and numerous of Berber villages,then arrive the Kasbah of Ait Ben Haddou for a short visit and continue to Zagora passing by the Anti Atlas mountains, the Berber village of Agdez and Draa Valley with its millions of palm tree plantation which is considerded the largest one in Morocco. Arrive to Zagora late afternoon and get ready for a camel trek towards the dunes to admire the sunset and spend the night in a Sahara desert camp.

Day 02: 
Zagora – Draa Valley-Ouarzazate  – Marrakech.
Wake up early  to enjoy the sunrise over the dunes, ride your camel back to Zagora to reach your vehicule, then drive through the Draa valley and Agdez and continue to Ouarzazate where you visit the Taourirt Kasbah ( lunch on the spot). Afternoon drive back to Marrakech.
2 thoughts on “Morocco – Zagora trip!

Leave a Reply

