Danang – Hue


 central bus station, da nang
you have to buy your tickets on the morning of departure itself – approach the counters, wait for the timing and go to the bus terminal to look for your bus to board.
the prices listed on the glass panes are not necessarily the one you pay – when we approached some counters, they quoted a ‘foreigner price’, afew hundred thousand dongs more expensive than the Vietnamese price.


spotted: my bus!

As the bus departed the Da Nang bus station, I felt calm, at peace. The past 2 weeks have been lovely, the company I was with; all the same it was nice to have some me-time again. I thought about Ashley and silently wished him well. I know it’ll be an amazing 2 months for him and I’m so envious, I hope that one day I’d get the chance to do the same.

bus journey from da nang to hue was gorgeous; despite the very humid weather (very sleep-able) i loved it.

The guy next to me asked a question in Viet; I think it was something along the line of why I was going to Hue. I shook my head and smiled, and tried to ask how long the journey would take. He shook his head and smiled. We shook our heads and smiled. I wonder what he was thinking, and I thought it was interesting that his thoughts would be in Vietnamese, while mine in English, and perhaps in his thoughts would lie words and descriptions that my language does not have.

Later he asked me where I was from and I managed to get that he was traveling to Hue, too, on holiday. We showed each other some pictures (of Hoi An from the day before) and I silently upgraded him from Guy to Nice Guy. 

Lady next to us tapped me and said something I managed to interpret with the help of Nice Guy as to open the window. Nice Guy muttered something to Lady while gesturing to me; perhaps it has to do with where I’m from. 

I thought about how nationality, the place you’re born in – circumstances not within your control – can determine the way people respond to you, and the way you may live your life. As someone mentioned before, people born in particular countries may not get the opportunities to work for the life they may want to lead, simply because they were born there. I am lucky that way. Also, with the recent anti-Chinese riots and with the traveling in Europe, I’ve come to realize that I’m happy to be known as a Singaporean, and I’m so thankful for being able to speak English.

Last week some of us went to a Chinese stall/ restaurant and the owner (a Chinese) spoke to us in mandarin. He asked us how long we’ve been here, and we said 2 weeks. He said “你们不怕吗?” “Are you not afraid?” and went on to raise his finger, sliding it slowly across his neck. We broke into nervous laughter.

I haven’t gotten the chance to ask any locals about their sentiments regarding the riots. Perhaps it’s a sensitive issue, but I guess students my age may be willing to share. I hope to find out in Hue. 🙂 






Upon arrival at the bus station of Hue, instead of taking a taxi to my hostel, I took a local bus – bus number 3. It wasn’t the easiest, but I managed to and I’m actually really happy about that. 6000vnd local bus(!!!) Met helpful locals. Happy 🙂 


Leave a Reply

